Types of Visa for Indian and Tips Everything You Need to Know

Types of visa

Government of India grants different-different Types of visa like E-Visa, Regular Visa, and Visa on Arrivals for Foreigners for Travel in India.  E-Visa and Regular Visas are granted to a foreigner whose objective of visiting India is recreation, sightseeing, casual visit to meet friends or family, attending a short-term yoga program, medical treatment, to do work and business In India.

Types of visa in India

The foreign national can Apply for E-Visa online over the e-Visa Portal and Regular visa need to apply at nearest Indian High commission. E-visa processes take 2 to 3 working days and Regular Visa takes 1 to2 weeks. Applicants can apply for E-Visa and Regular before 120 days in advance of their expected date of travel to India. There are 3 subcategories for e-Visa in India.

List of Countries whose nationals are eligible for e- Visa facility

Types of visa

Afghanistan, Albania, Andorra, Angola, Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Canada,

Cambodia, Cameroon Union Republic, Cape Verde, Cayman Island, Chile, Colombia, Comoros, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, El Salvador,

Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Eswatini, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Jamaica,

Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia,

Montenegro, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger Republic, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal Republic of Korea,

Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, SamoaSan Marino, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Spain,

Sri Lanka, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Island, Tuvalu, UAE, Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay, USA, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See, Venezuela, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe

Entry points for Visa holders in India

Persons holding e-Visa/Regular Visa are allowed to enter India only through the designated international airports following Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Trivandrum, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Cochin, Goa, Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Gaya, Jaipur, Lucknow, Trichy, Varanasi, Calicut, Mangalore, Pune, Nagpur, Coimbatore, Bagdogra, Guwahati, Chandigarh, and Visakhapatnam.

These are major types of Visa for India

Types of visa

1. E-Tourist Visa: –

An e-tourist visa has for recreation, sightseeing, casual visits to meet friends/Family/relatives, and attending a short-term yoga program in India. There are 30 days with a single entry, 60 days with double entries, one year and 5-year visa with multiple entries in India. This is a non-convertible and non-extendable visa in India except in specific cases.

2. E-Business Visa: –

E-Business Visa For all activities permitted under normal Business Visa. It has 90 days with double entries, one year and 5-year visa with multiple entries in India. This is a non-convertible and non-extendable visa in India except in specific cases (Like Married to Indian and Indian Origin).

3. E-Medical Visa: –

E- medical Visa is for medical treatment, including treatment under Indian systems of medicine. E-Visas are non-extendable, but in the case of e-Medical Visa as mentioned in para 5 above.  You can apply for Visa Extension as per the doctors’ recommendation in India.

4. Business Visa (Regular Visa): –

For a business visa, foreigners must follow Indian government guidelines before applying in at the Indian high commission. Foreign nationals who wish to visit India to establish an industrial/business venture or to explore possibilities to set up an industrial or business venture, other than Proprietorship Firms and Partnership Firms, in India can apply for it.

Registration: – All Business Visa holders are required to register themselves with the Concern FRRO in case their stay in India on a Business Visa exceeds 180 days stay during a calendar year.

5. Employment Visa (Regular Visa): –

An Employment visa is granted to foreigners who are highly skilled and highly professional. Employment Visa is not granted to for jobs for which qualified Indians are already available in India for ordinary or secretarial/clerical jobs.

Also, an employment visa is not granted to a citizen of Pakistan.

Registration:  If the Employment visa is valid for a period of more than 180 days/Long Term Visa, the foreigners need to register their Employment Visa with Concern FRRO/FRO within 14 days of arrival In India.

In the case of Employment Visa issued for a period of 180 days or less, Employment Visa registration is not required.

6. Entry Visa (Regular Visa): –

Entry Visa (X Visa) granted to a foreigner under these conditions in India.

  1. A Person of Indian Origin, who does not hold an OCI Card, can be granted an Entry Visa (X Visa) for a period of up to five years (Long Term visa) at a time, with multiple entry.
  2. Spouse and children of an Indian citizen/Indian Origin/OCI cardholder are eligible for an Entry Visa (X-2 Visa) for a long-term visa period of up to five years at a time, with multiple entries.

Who is a Person of Indian Origin?

Types of visa

  1. A person who held an Indian Passport.
  2. Person who or either of his/her parents or grandparents or great-grandparents, was born in, and was permanently resident in India.

These are major Types of visa for Foreigners That usually travel to India. Instead of these government provide many other visas like – Missionary Visa, Film Visa, Journalist Visa, Mountaineering Visa, Sports Visa, Conference Visa, Student and Research Visa, Project Visa, Transit Visa, E-conference Visa, E-medical Attendant Visa, E-Ayush Visa, E- Ayush Attendant Visa, And E-emergency X-misc Visa. Please read all the Instructions very carefully before apply any Visa Process.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
× How can I help you?